For the Children

When I began running, I started because my wife and I were expecting our first child. To a large degree, I am who I am today because of my children. It’s appropriate, then, running with my kids has continued to be a big part of my week. Usually, once a week, I load the 2 of the 3 kids into the running stroller and take off. I recorded a bit of it and sent it into NPR during a little “Sounds of Daybreak“.

http://www.npr.org/player/embed/439085893/439250256

I’ve run with my kids, and for my kids, countless times over the last 5 years. All of them have been done in the house we currently inhabit, and the house that we are currently packing up.

We are getting ready to move in a few weeks and there are many things we’ll miss about this house and this community. I hadn’t considered the impact of my running until this weekend. We came to this wooden bridge, one that I’ve crossed many times, and every time I run with the kids I say, “Okay! Here comes the bridge!” and the kids start saying, “Aaaaaahhh!” as we go bouncing down the bridge. It is always followed with a little fit of laughter. This weekend, while hearing the kids giggling, I came to the realization that we’d probably never share that exchange again. It makes me pretty sad to think about that.

FullSizeRender

“Hey Daddy! There’s the bridge!”

I hadn’t considered how much running had connected me to my kids. We practice our colors, sing songs, listen for birds and animals, and (of course) cross that bridge. Now, as we move and as they grow, I need to find out how and where to run with and for my kids. They are why I’ve started and they’re a part of why I’ll continue. Besides, there may be other bridges to cross and sounds to hear in Warren, IL, and we won’t know until we get there.

What are you thinking?

