The Hometown Tour

This weekend was a rare visit back to my parents’ house. They live about two miles out of town. By town, I almost mean village. It’s a small town of about 1,300 people. The school has K-12 all in one building and farming is the biggest factor keeping the town afloat. I don’t say that to belittle the town, but to speak to the roots of the community. 

I did my long run on Friday, so Saturday back in my old stomping grounds offered a shorter route. I figured I might as well run into town and take a peek around the old place. I ran by my old school which gave me some good opportunities, my home church which still is supporting my seminary journey, and the gas station which serves as the grocery store (as the closest full grocery store is about a 20-minute drive away). I ran over the one substantial hill on a gravel road outside of town where I did my cross country hill workouts (the one year I went out). 

Now, of course, there’s a reason I don’t live here. For my lifestyle and personality, I don’t have the opportunities I would need. However, I think it was important that I went on this run. The best way to see the way forward is to see where you’ve come from. But, you also can’t get where you’re going by living in the past, either. There’s a fine line between revisiting and dwelling in the past. Don’t stay where you are just because you’re too comfortable or afraid to move on. If you’re happy where you are, then I’m happy you’re found your place, I might even say that I envy you at times. Because despite the fact that I’ve changed a lot and my hometown hasn’t (except for a few more “For Sale” signs downtown), I certainly had stability there. I suppose I’ll probably always have that when I take the running tour of Loyal, WI. 

  

One thought on “The Hometown Tour

  1. This is so true. I think I need to bring this out and put it on my mirror to look at every day. Thanks for another inspirational post even for us non runners. 🙂

    Like

What are you thinking?

