Running in Memory

Yesterday, I decided to go for a run after I had decided not to. It was cold, about 2 degrees Fahrenheit, but much colder with a stiff wind from the north. When you turned to run north or northeast, any warmth you felt you had from the run was sucked from your bone. My beard froze to my mask and my eyelids froze shuts a few times. Why would I go out in that? Because as hard as it is to run in that, it’s harder to process the death of someone who died too soon. 

Amy from Modern Rural Living, a member of the North Iowa Bloggers of which I belong, was killed in a chain reaction car accident on Wednesday. Frankly, the whole group is reeling from it. Amy was a person who carried a smile that was a mile wide, kindness that came across with every word, and enthusiasm that I never saw defeated. She was passionate about blogging, because it connected her to people. She was the first to cheer for you and the first to offer encouragement when things didn’t go as planned.



(photo credit: Amy Hild)

The last memory I have with her was at the Cupid’s Undie Run a few weeks ago. She’s there, with that classic Amy smile, in the white shirt. I think that event is maybe the best way I could imagine to be my last memory with her. We were there to raise money for people who need help, to have fun, to meet people and make connections. I think that sums her up pretty well.

I’m not sure I’m making a lot of sense, as I’m still trying to make sense of her death. I’m still wrapping my head around the events, what they mean for our group, and how we will be able to adjust. I’m heartbroken for her fiancé, who was to be her husband on May 15th, and her family. 

So, to cope with that pain, I did what I know how to do best. I laced up my shoes, ran until my body hurt and then a bit further, and prayed the whole time. I am praying for her family, close friends, and all of us who have been so affected by her love of life. If I can inspire half as many people as she did in her 27 years, I’ll be surprised. 

If you want to read more from her friends, read Donna Hup, It’s Just Life, All in an Iowa Mom’s Life, Learning as I Go, Jeni Eats, Just a Mom Giving it a Tri,  Seneca Epley Photography, Living Life Joyfully, Corn, Beans, Pigs, and Kids, Fit and Farm, Year of Yes, and the Globe Gazette report on her. 

We carry each other.

10 thoughts on “Running in Memory

  1. Pingback: Dear Amy… | Learning As I Go

  2. Beautiful tribute, Bryan. I had not made a connection between the two of you. Amy and I were in many church and singing activities together growing up in CL. I echo what you say about trying to wrap your mind around it still. What an awful tragedy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Girl Who Lived 80 Years In 27 | Jeni Eats

What are you thinking?

