Feeling the Love

I think I’m not the only person inundated with Valentine’s Day things lately. Let me put that a different way: I know, with absolute certainty that, if you live in the US, you are aware that Hallmark wants to sell you cards before tomorrow. Everything is decorated in pinks and reds and chocolates/roses overfloweth from any gift store that still has something left to stock. We spend a lot of money on gifts, food, clothes, cards, and babysitters (for those of you who, like my wife and I, have little ones to plan around). And, all in all, if you want to go out to eat tomorrow, I hope you aren’t expecting to just walk into a nice restaurant at 6 tomorrow evening and get a seat without a reservation.

Before you think that sounds too cynical, let me say first and foremost that I love love. Love is the reason I keep running. Love is why we ever do anything of value. Love is what causes us to push past where we believe our limits are. Love of humanity has caused people to do daring things, impossible things. Love for the my family has caused me to do crazy stuff (like anything I can ever do to get my kids to laugh, most of which involves really weird words and movements). Love for God has brought me to serve in the best way I know how. Love for myself is why I started running in the first place.

I find new reasons to love the world almost every time I head out on a run. Whether it’s the kindness of a driver who shouts some encouragement out as they drive by or the high five of a fellow runner going the opposite direction, there are endless reminders around me as I run to love and be thankful. And that’s just one part of my life. I haven’t even mentioned my family, work, school, music, etc.

So, what I guess I want to say is this: celebrate love tomorrow. But do it the next day. And the next. And keep finding reasons to show love and experience love, because, as much as we concentrate on one day, it’s just one day. There are 364 other days a year that are just as worthy of celebration, because love is all around us, even though we don’t always recognize it.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

What are you thinking?

