Run Commute

Yesterday, I did my first unofficial run commute. My kids had their Bedstamor watching them for an hour or so, and I decided to go for a run. However, I had a few errands to run and it was unseasonably warm but raining. If you have kids, you realize just how annoying it is to transport 2 kids into and out of cars in the rain just for little errands that really only require you to be out of your car for a few minutes, just to get them in again. So, I decided that I could combine two tasks, by running to work to pick up my pay check.

285908

(Created by me here)

I’m not sure why this had never come into my mind before. I’ve ridden my bike to work several times. I’ve written about and thought about how running, health, and wellness are a lifestyle and not an event. But I’ve never really thought about running to work. It’s about 4.7 miles round trip, so it took me about 20 minutes to get there and then 20 minutes to get back. In Mason City, we have several great bike trails that can pretty much get you anywhere you need to go. So, I did something I’d never done before and loved it.

It’s always so refreshing to run someplace you normal drive. It’s a great way to remind yourself of the beauty of where you live and appreciate what is around you. Plus, if you’re doing something fun, like picking up a pay check, it feels like you’re getting paid to run! I wish I always got a check after I ran, but I’d have to get a lot faster before that can happy, so this is probably as close as I’ll ever get.

So, my encouragement this post is to think of ways that you can do something a little differently this week. I don’t care if it’s fitness related. I don’t care if it changes your life or your perspective. It can be as simple as trying a different drink at the coffee shop you frequent, walking to work with it’s nice out, or just switching up a small part of your daily routine. But try something different and see how it works for me. For my experiment, I can say that I will, most definitely, be running to work more often now that I’ve done it once.

3 thoughts on “Run Commute

What are you thinking?

