Pre-Race Eating

The last few weeks, I’ve been trying to refine and re-tune my race day eating routine. In the past, I’ve always had a peanut butter and honey sandwich with some granola sprinkled on it a few hours before the race and a banana about an hour before. However, this training period, I’ve been having oatmeal with peanut butter and flax. I generally eat oatmeal and flax for breakfast, so I figured my body knows how to handle that. I found this video, which I think helped me quite a bit.

You may have noticed, however, that oatmeal is a complex carb and it says to only eat simple carbs. I’m rationalizing this as necessity. I will be running a full marathon, not a 5k cross country race. I’ll burn a little over 3500 calories in just under 4 hours (or 3:45, if I have my way), not 500 calories in 22 minutes. I’m not belittling the effort of 5k runners, I’m simply putting it in perspective. By eating complex carbs, I’ll have longer lasting energy over the course of the morning rather than quick acting, quick burning carbs.

The banana is really just to help me settle my stomach and give me something to do. I eat when I’m nervous, tired, and bored. Therefore, the night before and the morning of a marathon, I’m really hungry!

Of course, I always have water and coffee in the morning, too.

—–

Do you have a morning routine for your running? It doesn’t have to be on race days.

3 thoughts on “Pre-Race Eating

What are you thinking?

