At the Core of it All

I’m about the same size now as I was in 8th grade. I’m not saying that to brag. I let myself gain 60 pounds and had to lose it all since then. Back then, I was, seriously, in the best shape of my life. The 8th-grade me could kick my butt right now. Undefeated wrestler and a monster football player, I lifted weights as much as I could. Of course, I was busy with other things too, like music and other groups, but I was physically pushing myself at least once a day. And it showed, although I can’t show you (I don’t have those pictures at this point).

Fast forward over a decade and I’m a runner. However, after 3 marathons, I realized I could barely do 10 push ups or even a few sit ups. It never really bothered me all that much, until I read up on the importance of core muscles in maintain in running form. I decided that, if I was serious about continuing my running and wanted to see improvement, I’d need to put some effort into my core. I’ve been doing about 3 core workouts a week over this race’s training and plan on maintaining that. I tend to do one of two options.

One is pretty basic and doesn’t require me to explain much. It’s all planks in sets and you build up time by increments of 15 seconds and then reverse. 30 sec plank, 10 sec rest (repeat 2-3 times). 45 sec plank, 10 sec rest (repeat 2-3 times). 60 sec plank, 10 sec rest (repeat 2-3 times). Then, reverse the whole thing.

The second option is a monster of my own creation and, as such, is unproven and constantly changing. However, here’s how I stands thus far:

20 push-ups (watch this Competitor Magazine video on push-ups)

30 seconds of front plank

30 seconds of side planks (each side)

20 glute bridges (this may get you some funny looks if done in public)

IMG_1336.JPG
Photo credit: www.motherfitness.com

30 seconds of boat pose

IMG_1337.JPG
Photo credit: www.quepolandia.com

20 squats

Today, I finally made it to 5 sets. 100 push-ups and 100 squats today! We’ll see how I feel today and tomorrow!

Do you have a core routine? I’d love to hear it!

2 thoughts on “At the Core of it All

What are you thinking?

