Vegan Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

Tonight, my family feasts on pizza. It’s a deliciously versatile meal. It can be pretty healthy and the crust is packed with carbs and the toppings can be healthy, fresh vegetables and lean meats. Bottom line: I really like pizza. I do the cooking at home and I prefer, if time and pantry permit, to make at least one thing from scratch each meal. Generally, this is healthier and cheaper than the store-bought alternatives. For pizza, I can’t very well make the toppings myself and the sauce is cheap enough that I don’t want to mess with that. So, I make crust.

2310273341_a71317918d_b

The crust recipe I use is pretty basic, but I try to dress it up a bit to get a little more flavor packed into it. I usually make this recipe as the basis from the Wheat Foods Council (sorry, GF folks, but I’m sure there’s a way to get gluten-free flour to work in this recipe).

INGREDIENTS
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 package active dry yeast or instant yeast
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • Italian seasoning to taste
  • 1 cup hot water
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 tbsp honey or sugar
  • 1-2 tbsp olive oil
  • Garlic powder to taste
PREPARATION

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. In large mixing bowl, combine whole wheat flour, yeast, Italian seasoning, and salt. I usually stir this quite a bit to get some air in it. It seems to be less dense when I do that.

Blend in water, oil and honey or sugar. Add to dry ingredients and stir until are well mixed. Cover with plastic wrap and let rise to desired size. This usually takes 45-60 minutes for me.Roll out the dough to the desired thickness. I cook on a baking stone (hence the rolling), but you can use a pizza pan or cake pan, too, and just put the dough in and flatten it in there. Press dough to cover bottom of pan and up sides to form a rim. Combine the olive oil and garlic powder and brush it on top of the dough.

Add pizza sauce of your choice and your favorite pizza topping. Bake in oven 15 to 20 minutes or until crust is golden brown and toppings are done.

Servings: Provides 8 servings
Calories/Serving: 146 calories/slice of crust only
Nutrition: One slice of crust only provides approximately: 146 calories, 5 g protein, 27 g carbohydrates, 4 g fiber, 2 g fat (0 g saturated), 0 mg cholesterol, 37 mcg folate, 2 mg iron and 219 mg sodium.

If you feel like experimenting (which, why would you read this if you didn’t), you can try to grill the pizza. That’s one of my favorite ways to make pizza. Get your toppings ready and mixed first, by adding sauce, and whatever else you’ll put on it (except the cheese). Grill the dough over medium heat on one side for a few minutes, flip it, add the toppings and cheese, and take off when the cheese is melted and the crust is done. This is the best way for me to get a wood-fired flavor without a wood-fired stove. Experiment, because the crust can burn easily like this, but it’s totally worth the attempt!

Quick! Favorite pizza topping? Go!

9 thoughts on “Vegan Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

What are you thinking?

