Granola

One of the first foods I started making specifically because it helped my active lifestyle was granola. I was tired of paying so much for it and thought that there must be a way to do this cheaper. So I used the trusty interwebs and chose the first one that popped up in the search results, which was Alton Brown’s Granola Recipe. It’s pretty easy and straight forward, but after making it enough times, I’ve developed my own variation. Here’s what I do:

3 cups of rolled oats
1/4 cup of brown sugar
1 cup of sunflower seeds
1 cup of slivered almonds or walnuts

1/2 cup of flax seed or chia seed

Mix that all up. In another bowl, combine:

1/4 cup of canola oil
1/4 cup of maple syrup, agave syrup, or honey
1/2 tsp of salt

Add to the dry mixture. Put in a cake pan and bake at 250 degrees F for 1:15, stirring every 15 minutes. When it’s done, pull out to cool and add 1 cup of dried fruit (raisins, craisins, mixed fruit, etc).

IMG_1269.JPG
Sorry for the out of focus picture.

This granola is not very chewy or chunky. I’m not sure how to make it such without adding a ton of corn syrup or unnecessary sugars, so think works well for me, especially on workout days! I’m not sure of the calories, but I would estimate around 300 before adding milk.

Does anybody else have a granola recipe? What do you like in your granola?

One thought on “Granola

What are you thinking?

