Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Energy Bars

Okay, I have to admit something first off. I really like banana bread. Like, a lot. Sometimes I’ll buy bananas that are a little overripe in hopes that my daughters won’t eat them before they go in the freezer, waiting their beautiful transformation.

All that being said, I haven’t tried this recipe yet, but I will as soon as I get home. It’s from Nutritionist in the Kitch and sounds delicious. The blog describes it like homemade Larabars, which is right up my alley. Enjoy!

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Energy Bars (vegan & GF!)

Prep time
5 mins
Cook time
30 mins
Total time
35 mins

Serves: 9
Ingredients
1 cup walnuts
1 cup pitted dates, soaked in warm water for 10 minutes, then drained
½ cup dehydrated banana, chopped
¼ cup dark chocolate chips
1-2 tbsp water (if needed)

Instructions
Soak dates, then drain.
Combine dates, walnuts, and chopped dried banana in a food processor and process for 1-2 minutes until well combined, you may need to add in 1-2 tablespoons of water if the mixture is too dry.
Remove sticky mixture from the processor and place in an 8×8 baking dish, lightly greased.
Pour in chocolate chips and fold into the mixture.
Firmly press the mixture down into the baking dish and cover with saran wrap.
Freeze for 30 minutes or more, until hardened, then cut into squares.
Makes 9 bars.

Nutritional Information
Serving size: 1 bar Calories: 243 kcal Fat: 18g Carbohydrates: 20g Sugar: 13g Fiber: 4g Protein: 3g

11 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Energy Bars

  1. Banana bread is my weakness! Well, one of them. I love it. I will print this recipe because my husband and I are trying to create our own fuel for long runs. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

      • I’ve never had any issues (yet) with any of those. I tried bonk breakers and shot blocks for the first time last Saturday but I always wonder if we can make our own bonk breakers but better and more natural. I’ll sure give this a try. Oh, and I love the new GU Chocolate and Peanut Butter. It tastes like a Reese Peanut Buttercup! lol Oh and Salted Caramel GU is good enough to put on ice cream. lol

        Like

      • I’ve never had any issues (yet) with any of those. I tried bonk breakers and shot blocks for the first time last Saturday but I always wonder if we can make our own bonk breakers but better and more natural. I’ll sure give this a try. Oh, and I love the new GU Chocolate and Peanut Butter. It tastes like a Reese Peanut Buttercup! lol Oh and Salted Caramel GU is good enough to put on ice cream. lol

        Like

      • Ha! Nice! The only GUs I’ve had are fruit ones and I always end up thinking, “Why don’t I just make some strawberry jelly and put it in a baggie?”

        Like

What are you thinking?

