Hear ye, hear ye! :: A Brief Introduction

1069797_675493195298_696686801_n

This is me, shortly after finishing my first marathon. A year before this, I was 60 pounds heavier and could not have dreamed that I could have done this or would have wanted to. Yet, I made a commitment to run for an organization called Charity:Water and I was determined to follow through with it. I finished at 4:00:07, 7 seconds slower than I wanted to be.

That was a year ago and now I can’t imagine my life without running. I’m not sure I would consider myself a “runner”, but ask my wife and she’ll tell you I am. For me, running is about something more than putting one foot in front of the other, making myself healthy, breaking PRs, or even habit. It’s about making time, forcing time, for me to shut out the noise of the everyday world and focus on that still, small voice that reminds me who I am, that challenges me to live according to who I am, and to do the same for others.

So, what am I? A child of God, a prisoner of hope, a husband, father, songwriter, seminarian, and, I suppose, a runner. This blog won’t be solely about running and the related fields of reviews, race recaps, and the like. It will be how that ties together with spiritual well-being. Also, I’ll probably post some music, useless trivia, and bad puns. These things, like running, are all simply a part of who I am and what I’m meant to be.

What are you thinking?

